Two library faculty members recognized with Chancellor’s Award for Excellence

University Libraries is proud to announce that two faculty members are the recipients of the 2017-2018 SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Librarianship. They are Jennifer A. DeVito, Director of Access & User Services, and Darren Chase, Head of Scholarly Communication. Jennifer was recognized for her leadership in unifying user services across all our service points, merging key operational functions, innovative staff development, creative design of public areas to facilitate student success, and extraordinary liaison work with the College of Business and Women’s and the Women’s, Gender & Sexuality Studies Department. Colleagues resoundingly describe Ms. DeVito as “the definitive academic librarian–hard working, creative, engaged and scholarly,” “an exemplary colleague,” and “a model for other librarians.” Darren was recognized for his innovativeness and leadership in advancing library technology initiatives and solutions across the University, including exemplary work with online education, web development, and scholarly communication initiatives such as open access and open education. He was instrumental in leading Stony Brook University in adopting an open access policy, which was subsequently adopted as a model for all of SUNY. Darren was also recognized for his leadership in various capacities within the Library, at the University, and across SUNY and consistently demonstrating utmost collegiality, professionalism, and expertise among his peers. Congratulations to Jennifer and Darren on this distinguished recognition! We’re very proud of you.

Janet Clarke

Associate Dean, Research & User Engagement at Stony Brook University Libraries
Janet Clarke

Latest posts by Janet Clarke (see all)

Posted in About Us