Working Groups

Academic Engagement Working Group

The Academic Engagement Working Group explores methods for the University Libraries’ participation in the entire life cycle of research and learning on campus. The Working Group guides the enhancement of engagement activities, course integrated and embedded instruction, online research guides, and workshops. The Group defines and prioritizes strategies for assessment and reflective practices in order to understand the University Libraries’ impact on student success. Regularly consulting with liaisons for special projects in their subject areas, the Working Group focuses on partnering the University Libraries with the larger University community to build deeper engagement practices as well as address information and research needs.


Membership: Janet Clarke, Jennifer DeVito, Kristin Hall, Kristen Nyitray, Mona Ramonetti, Gregg Stevens, Clara Tran.

Access Services Working Group

The Access Services working group focuses on issues surrounding policies and procedures related to circulation, reserves, and interlibrary loan. The working group seeks to enhance services and facilitate access to the resources at the Stony Brook University Libraries.


Membership: Jennifer DeVito (chair), Donna Darling, Diane Englot, Christopher Larson, Kenneth Schaal, Lisa Socci, and Giulieta Stoianov.

Communications & Outreach Working Group

The Communications and Outreach Working Group recommends strategies, policies, and procedures to ensure that events align with and fully support the University Libraries’ mission, vision, and goals.  The Working Group collaborates closely with Library faculty and staff to plan, promote, and execute cultural, scholarly and advancement events and programs in the Library.  Also, the Working Group coordinates and oversees the Library’s full-range of publicity and communications strategies for consistent messaging and branding of its resources, services, and programs.


Membership: Stacey Horath (chair), Vincent Clark, Janet Clarke, Shafeek Fazal, Kristin Hall (vice-chair), Chris Kretz, Laurel Scheinfeld, Lisa Socci, and Meghan Sprabary.

Social Media Sub Group

Membership: Kristin Hall (Chair), Janet Clarke, Shafeek Fazal, Stacey Horath, Chris Larsen, Laurel Scheinfeld, Lisa Socci, and Meghan Sprabary.

Digital Humanities Working Group

The Digital Humanities Working Group guides library engagement in digital humanities work on campus, with an emphasis on the ways in which the University Libraries can provide leadership and vision in this dynamic area of inquiry.  The Working Group plans programming, offers a framework for research consultations, and works with liaisons to engage with faculty and students on teaching, learning, and research activities in the digital humanities.


Membership: Kate Kasten (chair), Darren Chase, Shafeek Fazal, Carolyn Hansen, Chris Kretz, Heath Martin, Victoria Pilato, Jamie Saragossi, Chris Sauerwald.

Digital Initiatives Working Group

The University Libraries’ Digital Initiatives Working Group provides leadership and direction on digital initiatives, including, but not limited to, digital project creation, digital preservation, digitization services, metadata, discoverability, and accessibility.


Membership: Victoria Pilato (chair), Darren Chase, Anastasia Chiu, Shafeek Fazal, John Fitzgerald, Jessica Koos, Chris Kretz, Heath Martin, Kristen Nyitray, Chris Sauerwald, Jason Torre.

Equity, Inclusion, and Diversity Committee

Respect for diversity is a fundamental value of Stony Brook University and the University Libraries, and is identified among the core values of our strategic growth.Working in parallel with the Office of the SBU’s Chief Diversity Officer the University Libraries Committee on Equity, Inclusion and Diversity will strive to:

  • increase awareness and sensitivity among library staff
  • recommend policies and projects that embed diversity and inclusion into the Libraries’ services and work environments
  • envision events that build cultural awareness and provide the tools needed to strengthen work relationships and build a supportive SBU community


Membership: Mona Ramonetti (chair), Anastasia Chiu, Chris Kretz, Jay Levenson, Raquel Lynn, Victoria Pilato, Sarita Sharma, Gregg Stevens, Giulieta Stoianov

Lead Selectors Working Group

The Lead Selectors Working Group guides the development and preservation of a rich and diverse network of scholarly, cultural and informational resources in support of the University’s mission of excellence in scholarship, research, teaching, creativity, health care and economic and technological development. The working group supports the University’s teaching and research missions locally and globally by:


  • Providing leadership for the creation of a resource-rich scholarly environment
  • Implementing a framework for acquiring and preserving world-class scholarly collections
  • Assessing and anticipating the needs of a constantly evolving learning and research community


Membership: Jin Guo (chair), Darren Chase, Shafeek Fazal, Kate Kasten, Heath Martin, Kristen Nyitray, Jamie Saragossi, Clara Tran

Liaison Working Group

The Liaison Working Group enhances scholarly productivity and student achievement, and actively engages in all aspects of SBU’s research and learning life cycles.


Membership: Janet Clarke (chair), Clara Tran, Heath Martin, Shafeek Fazal.

Scholarly Communication Working Group

The Scholarly Communication Working Group acts to support the mission of the Center for Scholarly Communication and provides expertise, information and resources to authors, researchers and students:


  • Meeting public access mandates;
  • Promoting and teaching scholarly communication skills, practice and tools to the academic community through workshops, events, course-integrated instruction and discussion
  • Understanding the dynamic scholarly publishing environment and leveraging author’s copyright
  • Utilizing open access for the sharing and discovery of scholarship, research and data.
  • Discovering, using and creating Open Educational Resources (OER).


Membership: Darren Chase (chair), Anastasia Chiu, Shafeek Fazal, Kate Kasten, Jessica Koos, Victoria Pilato, Clara Tran.

 Virtual Presence Steering Group

The Virtual Presence Steering Group provides guidance for the development, management, and ongoing assessment of the University Libraries’ virtual presence, including all web and mobile platforms. The Group defines and prioritizes strategies for making the most effective use of the web and mobile environments, focusing on innovation and user satisfaction.


Membership: Darren Chase, Shafeek Fazal, Chris Kretz.